top of page

How You Can Improv(e) Training Sessions!


I'll be real with ya. I'm not that funny. A little awkward, yes, but funny.. eh? I like to make up for that by having fun, being energetic and passionate. I also like to use a little improv on occasion. Improv really helps me warm up my audience, get buy in, and have a good time! In addition to improv, icebreakers, games, media, and humor really make even the most mundane training EXCITING!

At my school, I do a lot of PD. Sometimes my sessions last a long time. Sometimes they don't. But no matter what I am teaching, I always have one rule in mind: MAKE IT FUN.

What is improv?

Well, improv is being spontaneous and working with what you got. Often, if I am delivering PD or training teachers, I'm pretty much all I got! The internet helps, too. And truth be told, most times, I'm not really being all that spontaneous. I practice, a lot... Sometimes in front a of a mirror.

How I Use Improv

I use improv to get the story started, as the hook. I typically start training sessions with some sort of improv game to get everyone going and on the same page. Let me give you an example.

Recently, I delivered a half day training on Google Classroom to teachers who had never seen or heard of it before. I knew that they would be concerned about adding ANOTHER thing to their already busy schedule. They may not even WANT to lean about it (crazy, I know). My goal was to show them how Google Classroom could change their life! (LITERALLY) And that it was okay to fail! After all, failing doesn't make you a failure! It just gives us the opportunity to try again and get better!

My message was: let yourself fail. You cannot break the internet. Yes, CLICK EVERY BUTTON. EXPLORE. It's okay, really.

So, we started out with an improv game that I learned over the summer from Carl Hooker during one of his keynote presentations called Clap, Snap, Stomp. It works like this: groups of three are created and given the task of each saying a number one to three, then replacing the #1 with a clap, #2 with a snap, and #3 with a stomp. In each round one person says or does one task then the next and so on. When we mess up, (which happens often) we cheer loudly! Most of us laugh as well. The message is clear! Celebrate failure! It's okay and part of the process of learning something new.

Use Media

Video and images are a great way to add some humor into your training sessions. One of my favorites is this hilarious trust fall fail video which highlights the importance of proper instructions.

Everyone loves a good meme. Check this one out for after a long training session.

You know, good use of visuals goes a LONG way!

Techno Tools

Kahoot! is one of my absolute favorite ways to engage in a little competition. Use Kahoot to assess prior knowledge, or find out how much your participants learned.

Padlet is a great tools to crowd source. Double click anywhere on the Padlet, and participants can add any kind of information they wish!

Keep the conversation going by back channeling. This allows participants to collaborate and offer suggestions. Use a Twitter hashtag for your event or training. If Twitter is not your thing, check out tools like Today's Meet.

My Favorite Icebreakers

Never Have I Ever- Warm up the audience with a little fun and get valuable information about what they bring to the table (prior knowledge). Ask your audience to get out their phones and take two pictures: one of a green screen and one of a red screen. Ask audience members questions with possible answers being that they have done it or have never done it. For example you may say: Never have I ever shared a Google Doc. Participants hold up their phone showing the red image if they have never and the green image if they have.

Musical Mingling- While the music is playing participants move around and mingle with one another. When the music stops participants should stop and listen for directions. Give directions like- tell your partner three things you learned today, name your biggest takeaway, or tell what you will change about your classroom. Great for a wrap up activity!

Change If- This is one I just learned about and can't wait to try. Get people moving around and changing seats by giving commands like: Change if you have a blog; Change if you use Twitter professionally; Change if you have ever used a gif to express your feelings.

Do you have some brain breaks, improv games, funny videos, or ice breakers you use in training sessions? If so, please share! I would love to add to my list.

See you next time, world :)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page